Stop 11: St Nicholas Church
A drawing from 1835
Note the higher tower and new south aisle
There has been a church on this site since Norman times, and possibly earlier. A wonderful old church, in a picturesque setting, with an interesting interior, and churchyard. The church is usually open during daylight hours.
Look for the detailed memorials and monuments especially in the Scadbury Chapel, linking the church with the Walsingham family and later lords of the manor.
The churchyard contains the tombs of some well-known former residents of Chislehurst, including William Willett. More information on famous, or infamous, former residents of Chislehurst, including Lords of the Manor, can be found here...
Canon Francis Murray was Rector at St Nicholas for over 50 years, and oversaw many changes to the church, though his relationship with the Lord of the Manor was difficult. He wrote a chapter for Webb's History of Chislehurst, and local historian Jean Pailing has written a biography of this interesting man. He died in 1902 and is buried in the churchyard.
|Look for the impressive effigy of Earl Sydney in the Scadbury Chapel (image below)|
|Leave by the lych gate and cross Manor Park Road into Hawkwood Lane.|